Tell Someone

I’ve been doing this experiment to free up some space in my life to better focus on my family. Some days it goes ok, others it does not. I call it The Quitter Experiment.

cropped-file-may-11-6-47-26-am.jpeg

I think the hardest part of letting go of the hold my device has over my life, has actually been putting the phone down. It’s really hard to just leave it alone. You may think I’m crazy, but it really does call to me from the drawer. My hands feel empty without it.

This is why it is important for you to tell someone about what you’re doing. Here’s what I said in an earlier post,

Tell Someone Else What You’re Doing.
Why tell someone else? So they can ask you about it. Keep you honest with yourself. Even if you lie to them, you fully well know the truth. I’m telling you, but also have other people in my life to help out.

It’s not fun when someone ask you, “Hey, how’s that going?” and you really have to be honest and say, “Not all that well really.”

My wife asked me about it yesterday & I had to tell her the truth. It’s really hard. 

I’ll flat out say it – I am addicted to the dopamine hit that I get from the Little Red Dot. It is hard to put down something that you actually wanted to get. It’s hard to disconnect in our always connected society. I always feel like I’m going to miss something.

The truth is this.

The big stuff. The stuff that impacts people’s lives the most. That stuff isn’t on social media. The truth is, if you are deeply connected to someone personally, they will tell you before the rest of the world, or social media.

There are some big changes going on in the people’s lives around me and this stuff isn’t for the world to know. Social media might be a good place for some stuff to be put eventually, but at the start, you and I both know that the only people we tell big stuff to are those closest to us.

The point is this.

Take some time and evaluate yourself. Ask if you spend too much time on a device, (phone, computer, tablet, or TV). Do you sacrifice the people directly in your life, for those distantly connected? Yes it’s fun to keep the family updated, but are they really the closest people to you? So seriously, ask yourself this question…

Do I sacrifice the people right in front of me,
for those distantly connected?

Hope this has been helpful for you. If so, let me know in the comments below.

~DS

Leave a Reply

