The Quitter Experiment

So yesterday I wrote a post about getting rid of the Little Red Dot. Since that published I’ve gotten some pretty good feedback and suggestions from friends on how to clean some of that up.

File May 11, 6 47 26 AM

I’ve decided to not let my life be ruled by Social Media and all the other Little Red Dots. Let’s call this The Quitter Experiment. 

For seven days my attempt is to detach and unplug on purpose. Spend less time with my head down to the screen, and up and engaged with the people I’m around. Here’s my steps to make that happen…

  1. Turn OFF the Notifications.
    Yes. You read that correctly. Turn Off all non-essential notifications on your device. For me that means only being notified for Texts, Emails and that odd-ball Phone Call.
  2. Set the Device DOWN.
    Set it down and leave it alone! It doesn’t need you and you don’t need it. I notice that when I see the device, I pick it up and many times I’m not even bored or don’t need it. I just see it, and pick it up. Do you do the same? It’s time to set it down in a place where I know where it’s at, but is completely obvious and intentional to pick up.

    My place to start is the Kitchen Counter. I do frequent the kitchen, and it’s close enough to life to hear a call or text when needed. It’s a little out of the way but not too far. But remember, this is my starting place. Eventually I’d like to come home and drop the phone in a drawer and forget about it for a while.

  3. Tell Someone Else What You’re Doing.
    Why tell someone else? So they can ask you about it. Keep you honest with yourself. Even if you lie to them, you fully well know the truth. I’m telling you, but also have other people in my life to help out.

So this is my experiment. I want my life to revolve around the people I actually see, not the ones I interact with online. My decision is to not let technology completely control my life.

How about you? Have you noticed the Little Red Dots controlling your life? If so, why not try this experiment with me? If they don’t, let us know, teach us how to abolish the power of the Little Red Dot. Would love to hear your thoughts in the comments.

6 Replies to “The Quitter Experiment”

  1. I agree. We need to interact with those who are physically around us. There are communication issues between husbands and wives and parents and children. We only only half listen if we are looking at a screen when someone is talking to us. Who wants to be the wife or husband that can’t remember what their spouse is saying because they weren’t listening or have a relationship where they don’t know what to talk about? Who wants to be the parent that their kids remember them constantly looking at a screen?
    http://www.loftforum.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

