Be A Quitter

What came to mind when you read the title? Was is Mom or Dad’s voice telling you to never quit? Maybe a coach’s voice saying that quitters never win. Or your own voice telling to just keep going. Maybe you thought about that dead end job. You know. The one where you’re only purpose in being there is to collect a paycheck or provide the health insurance your family needs.

File May 11, 6 47 26 AM

Today I’m not talking about either one of those types of things. I’m not going to tell you to quit your job, or that by quitting you won’t win at life. No. This is about something else entirely…

I’ve noticed in my life that when I’m not intentional, I drift towards laziness. I drift toward the immediate pleasure of instant gratification. When I was younger it used to be video games or TV. Today, it’s my iPhone or the internet, or sadly I’ll admit it … Pokemon GO.

I actually started thinking about how much time I spend on my device after my son was born. Even though I don’t have an actual average number of hours, I realized I was choosing it far more than just being with him. Even when he’s quiet and fun as infant, I’m drawn to the device. I can set it down in the kitchen and want to run to it just to see if I missed anything.

Is this You?

Not to devalue extremely destructive lifestyle addictions like drug abuse, but my phone is an addiction in my life. Facebook is an addiction. My mind has grown to desire the dopamine hit the Little Red Dot gives, and honestly, I hate that!

I hate that a Little Red Dot with a number in it has SO much power in my life. I crave the little red dot. I want to post things just to get higher numbers in the Little Red Dot.

So it’s time to be a quitter.  It’s time to take my life back from the Little Red Dot.

How will I do this? I don’t know yet. So much of our society REVOLVES around social media in some way. I post photos and status updates and blogs like this one (please don’t stop reading!) in an attempt to be positive and uplifting influence to those that follow me. My desire is to add value to your life more than I desire that Little Red Dot, but it’s hard.

It’s time to quit though. It’s time to Take Back Your Life and find something better to chase than the Little Red Dot.

How do you keep the Little Red Dot from taking control of your life?

3 Replies to “Be A Quitter”

Leave a Reply

