Enough is Enough

Have you ever noticed that you can never have enough money?

photo-nov-21-7-21-29-am

Ask yourself this question, “When have I felt the richest in my life?” I would imagine for most of us, it’s when we got our first paycheck from our job in high school. You saw that check, for me it was around $500 for two weeks of work, and could spend it on anything you wanted to. Most likely, you make tons more than that now, yet don’t even feel close to rich.

Today’s proverb says,

“Don’t wear yourself out trying to get rich. Be wise enough to know when to quit.” –Proverbs 23:4

The author here, who is considered to have been the richest person in history, is telling us that getting rich will just wear us out. There is never enough. We can spend our whole lives chasing a dream to be rich and never reach it.

I’ve heard it said that if you make about $50,000 or more per year you are in the top 1-2% of wage earners in the world. Being rich is all a matter of perspective. I know at that rate I don’t feel rich and it’s because I don’t have the margin I did when I only had a small check. There I could do whatever I wanted with that money. Now I have a family to provide for. There my parents took care of all my needs – my paycheck was play money. Now I pay for my food, housing, clothing and transportation.

The pursuit of money, without an end goal, is a vain pursuit. Knowing when to quit is knowing when you have what you need. When we have excess what does it tend to do? I don’t know about you, but my excess just disappears. It flies away like a balloon without an anchor.

No, I don’t have a problem with you or I making lots of money and being rich as defined by the American culture. I would actually like to have more disposable income and do more with my family. I’m just not willing to sacrifice certain things in order to gain it.

Leave a Reply

