Seek and Follow

photo-nov-21-7-21-29-am

If you grew up in the church world, especially the baptist world like I did, you’ve probably heard this phrase before – “I just want to find God’s will for my life.”

As I grew up I learned that this is trying to identity something that is ambiguous or vague. It’s undefined and different for everyone. Searching for it led me to question whether there was just one will of God for my life. I tried to do a lot of things that I thought were right, college, jobs in different industries and dreams that never went anywhere. Don’t get me wrong, I’m grateful for all of those experiences. People sacrificed so I could have some of those experiences. And they are part of what makes me who I am today.

But our pursuit is bigger than just God’s will for our life. Jesus taught that the greatest thing we can do is to love God with all our heart. He also taught us to seek first the kingdom of God, then everything else will be given to us. Our pursuit is to love God. Today’s Proverb says it this way,

Those who follow the right path fear the Lord;
those who take the wrong path despise him.
Proverbs 14:2

Fear the Lord and you will follow the right path. That clears it up right? I’ve always had a hard time with the phrasing ‘Fear the Lord’ but I’ve come to understand that it means to Revere, Respect, or Honor the Lord. So when we Honor, Respect, or Revere the Lord we follow the right path.

We come to that point by seeking God. Some of us seek God through worship. Others prayer, scripture reading, journaling or conversations with the Godly people in their life. I know those who seek God through a call to serve the broken, while others find him in the craziest of places – like a mountain top, cabin in the woods or beach house. The point is to not focus on how you seek God, but to seek him.

Now, while I gave up on the “God’s will for my life” thing a long time ago, there is a calling on my life.  A calling to do ministry vocationally.  A calling to develop leaders and disciple others in ministry.  Right now, and hopefully for a long while, that calling is to help start and lead a brand new church in the Dallas area.  Never thought I would be a Texas guy, but I wholeheartedly believe that in seeking the Lord, he has led us here to The Bridge Church.

He has led me to some great places. My life so far has been an adventure. It’s not always easy, but seeking and following God is very much worth the sacrifice.

Leave a Reply

