Silver, Gold and Rubies

photo-nov-21-7-21-29-am

What is the most valuable thing you own? Have it in mind? Good. Mine is a guitar my grandmother bought me way back when I was in high school. No, I’m not going to ask you to give it away. I don’t know you well enough to suggest something crazy like that. How much did that thing cost you, or if it was a gift, what do you think it cost the giver?

Now, keep that precious thing in mind.

Today’s proverbs discusses wealth but not in the way Proverbs 6 did the other day. No, today’s wealth topic is about what holds value. Here the author tells us that there are actually things more valuable to life than money. If you’ve been following along you’ve probably guessed, but here it is – Wisdom.

10 Choose my instruction rather than silver,
and knowledge rather than pure gold.
11 For wisdom is far more valuable than rubies.
Nothing you desire can compare with it.
Proverbs 8:10-11

It’s hard to believe in a culture that revolves around money, that something else can be more valuable than it. Or maybe it’s just me. I know I can get so focused on making sure we have enough money and my family is provided for, that I tend to forget pursuing what really matters in my life.

I think this Proverb is a good reminder for us all to refocus. Wisdom is more valuable than the number in your online banking. Choosing to follow a path of instruction and wisdom can and will lead to a more fulfilled life. I know the times I feel the richest, are the times where I am able to pour out the wisdom God has given me, into someone who is searching for it.

One Reply to “Silver, Gold and Rubies”

  1. I think it is really interesting how far we have come as a society. From a period when the quest for knowledge and wisdom was paramount. A time where scholars were revered and honored. Where to attend university was a privilege of the select few who truly desired to challenge themselves intellectually. To quote George Feeney from the TV show ‘Boy Meets World’ (i.e., the book of Proverbs of my childhood), “Gutenberg’s generation thirsted for a new book every six months! Your generation gets a new web page every 6 seconds. And how do you use this technology? To try and beat King Koopa, and rescue the princess. Shame on you. You deserve what you get.”

Leave a Reply

