Follow wisdom and live.

photo-nov-21-7-21-29-amIf you’re reading through the Proverbs with me this month, or just following my blog, you may have noticed I kind of skipped Proverbs 7 on the 7th. Honestly I mulled over which passage to write about – started a few different thoughts – and nothing came out. I kept wanting to talk about the first few verse that say “Obey my commands and live” and “Love wisdom like a sister.” But I really couldn’t write anything I was proud of, or would want to read myself. Then my wife asked me about it this morning, a day late, and sparked an idea. So here we go.

Proverbs 7 is a hard passage to pull from without taking anything out of context, so I’ll be more paraphrasing today. You can read it here for yourself as I won’t be quoting the whole chapter.

The beginning verses are easy as I stated earlier, but it really a repeat of what the whole book is about – Search for wisdom and you will find it. But the later part, verses 6-27 tell a story of young man seduced by an adulteress, harlot, or immoral woman depending on which version you read from. Currently I’m reading from the NLT so it’s the immoral woman.

The narrator says that he watched a young man be seduced by a well known immoral woman in his town. She tapped into his lust and offered him a forbidden love affair with the safety of knowing that her husband would not return until later in the month. The scripture in verse 21 says, “She seduced him with her pretty speech and enticed him with flattery.” What I find really interesting is that the very next verse says, “He followed her at once, like an ox going to the slaughter.”

Now, I know we are desensitized to sexual content in our culture. It’s everywhere. So some may read this and want to be the one being seduced. They see it as an exciting adventure or something like that. They follow that path without looking further down the road to the consequences.

Reading this, I can’t help but connect Solomon’s wisdom with Paul’s instruction in 1 Corinthians 6:18. Solomon says in verse 25 , “Don’t let your hearts stray away toward her. Don’t wander down her wayward path.” Paul simply says something like this… RUN! FLEE! GET AWAY from sexual sin as fast as you can. (That’s my paraphrase anyway). He actually says, “Run from sexual sin! No other sin so clearly affects the body as this one does.”

The point is this – if you look at the consequences here, the result is slaughter. It’s death by an unwise choice. Wisdom tells the young man to avoid the temptation. Stay away from it as best you can. If you have to walk by it, keep on walking. Don’t stop and even entertain the idea. When you do, it has you trapped.

So let’s follow the advice of the Proverbs and write wisdom on our hearts. Doing so will greatly increase the quality of your life.

Leave a Reply

