I said what!?

photo-nov-21-7-21-29-amHave you ever said something and then immediately thought to yourself, ‘Where did that come from?’ Or maybe you reacted to a situation in a way you never have before. Or it could be you have thoughts that don’t necessarily line up with your beliefs – but you can’t seem to figure out where they started?

Today’s Proverb tells us that we need to guard our heart because it determines the course of our life. Jesus also taught on this subject telling the people that “From the heart come evil thoughts, murder, adultery, all sexual immorality, theft, lying and slander. These are what defiles you.” You can find the full passage in Matthew 15:19-20.

20 My child, pay attention to what I say.
Listen carefully to my words.
21 Don’t lose sight of them.
Let them penetrate deep into your heart,
22 for they bring life to those who find them,
and healing to their whole body.
23 Guard your heart above all else,
for it determines the course of your life.
24 Avoid all perverse talk;
stay away from corrupt speech.
25 Look straight ahead,
and fix your eyes on what lies before you.
26 Mark out a straight path for your feet;
stay on the safe path.
27 Don’t get sidetracked;
keep your feet from following evil.

Proverbs 4:20-27

I’ve learned over the course of time that the more I take in of something, the more it tends to come out later on. Here’s a small example. I worked construction off and on for about 4 years. Most recently was the longest stretch for close to two years. In that time I was exposed to LOTS of foul mouthed language and other crude junk. Now, I’m not a prude, and I never expected the guys I worked with to be anything other than who they were. I’ve been removed from that environment for about 18 months now, but I still find myself wanting to respond to and talk to people with that language because I heard it SO much.

Here’s my point – whatever you take in, conversations, language, political jargon, movies, music, even religious beliefs – they all effect you positively or negatively. Whatever you take in, will come out sooner or later. So if you have an area of your life you don’t like, I would ask you to pay attention to what you are taking in.

  • Do the violent movies make you angry?
  • Do drinking songs make you want to get drunk this weekend?
  • Are you really changing that friend you keep standing up for, or are they changing you?
  • Does that book make you toy with the thought of affair?

The list really could go on and on. We all make compromises that could have the tendency to lead us into a self destructive life, and honestly, we are only one or two decisions away from ruining our life.

Whether you think this is you or not – take a moment pray through this Proverb. Ask the Lord if there is anything in your life that you need to remove. Ask yourself if what you take in, is actually good for you.

Leave a Reply

