How do you do that?

photo-nov-21-7-21-29-am

If you grew up in the church world like I did, you hear some of the same phrases over and over again. At times they are helpful, while others they are not. Some are good to help as a guide for life while some you have to ask, “How do I do that?”

One such phrase I’ve heard all my life is, “You just have to trust God.” At first I liked it because it felt nice and helped me get through whatever situation I might have been in at the time. But as I grew up – something simple like ‘Trust God’ was no longer helpful. Why? Mostly because we say it, but don’t teach people HOW to simply ‘Trust God.’

What I like about today’s Proverb is that is takes a statement like that, and starts to give us guidance as to the how. It says,

5 Trust in the Lord with all your heart;
do not depend on your own understanding.
6 Seek his will in all you do,
and he will show you which path to take.
Proverbs 3: 5-6

Yes, it is abstract, like we’re answering a question with a question, or defining a word with that same word. Not really earth shattering to begin with, but it’s a start.

If I’ve lost you let me explain. The verse says to trust in the Lord and not depend on our own understanding. So if we aren’t going to depend on our own understanding we have to depend on someone’s. My assumption here is that Solomon, the guy who wrote it, is telling us to depend on the Lord’s understanding. In order to do that, we have to know how the Lord thinks, how he acts and reacts, and how he works. For us to know all of these things, we have to know Him. We have to seek him.

What I find interesting is that the author started out this Proverb in verse one saying, “Store my commands in your hearts.” I think all along he is telling us that trusting in God means knowing God. When his commands are stored, or written on our hearts as he says later on, we almost immediately know how what the wise thing to do is.

I take this as a need to memorize more and more Scripture but I’ll be honest with you, I find this is one of the hardest spiritual disciplines for me to do. Sure I can tell you where a lot of stuff is in the Bible, and I have a few select passages that I know very well, but actually memorizing and writing them on my heart is far and few between.

What about you? How do you go about storing up the commands of God?

Leave a Reply

