Miracles

So I’ve had this song staying with me the past few months. It has sort of become my own personal theme song (at least in my head) through a lot of the craziness going on in my life. I call it craziness because nothing is normal. Nothing stays the same for long. It feels like I’m in constant transition. Anyway, through it all, this song has stuck with me.

Miracles by Jesus Culture is a great song written out of the author’s pain. On the album he explains that he and his wife were praying for a miracle in the birth of one of their sons. However, that son didn’t make it. But even at the end of the day, he says they still believe that the Lord is good and still a God of miracles.

What I love the most is that this song connects us to instances found in scripture, such as John 9:1-7 where Jesus gave a blind man sight, or Mark 7:31-37, where Jesus gave a deaf man hearing. It reminds us that the God who does the impossible, reaches out to us to make us whole, and he even gives us the power of the Holy Spirit. All of this vastness can be found in the two short verses.

The chorus is a simple personal proclamation saying, “I believe in You, I believe in You. You’re the God of miracles.” I love these types of singable/repeatable choruses right now. I believe that the more we put into our minds, whether good or bad, it wires us to think a certain way. So, the more we say, sing, or proclaim something, I think it wires us to actually believe the things we are saying.

So the words of the song are below along with a Youtube link to Jesus Culture doing this song live.

Hope it impacts you as much as it has me.

Thanks Chris and Jesus Culture for a fantastic song for the Church!

Verse 1:
The One who made the blind to see.
Is moving here in front of me, moving here in front of me.
The One who made the deaf to hear.
Is silencing my every fear, silencing my every fear.

Chorus:
I believe in You, I believe in You
You’re the God of miracles

Verse 2:
The One who does impossible
Is reaching out to make me whole. Reaching out to make me whole.
The One who put death in its place .
His life is flowing through my veins. His life is flowing through my veins.

Bridge:
The God who was and is to come.
The power of the Risen One.
The God who brings the dead to life.
You’re the God of miracles! 
You’re the God of miracles!

Watch Miracles here.

2 Replies to “Miracles”

Leave a Reply

