What I’m Reading: May 2016

Well things have been pretty chaotic around here lately. Usually when life gets busy, my writing and blogging is the first thing to go. Sometimes I wonder why I spend time writing, but it occasionally helps me think through stuff.

Anyway, I’ve been finding myself more curious and intrigued of the work of the Holy Spirit. Anytime I have opened scripture the past few months, passages on the Spirit’s work stand out more now than they ever have. It truly is fascinating. I’ve also noticed I have unintentionally been reading more books on the Spirit’s work. Some have been studies and some novels, but regardless of that, a few years ago I know I wouldn’t even have such books in my library.

So here’s a taste of what I’ve been reading the past few months.

  1. The 21 Irrefutable Laws of Leadership by John C. Maxwell.
    As usual a Maxwell book tops my list. I think this is the fourth or fifth time I’ve read this book. I’m amazed that everytime I read it, something new always tends to stand out. If you’re in any type of leadership position, I highly recommend this book!
  2. Fasting by Franklin Jentenzen.
    Not long ago I was completely oblivious to the role fasting can have in our lives. It is an almost lost spiritual discipline that I’m learning to implement into my life. My favorite quote of the book is where the author says, “If fasting is not combined with prayer, all we are doing is starving ourselves.” Great book if your looking to further expand your spiritual life!
  3. Forgotten God by Francis Chan.
    This was the only intentional book I’ve read on the Holy Spirit lately. Francis discusses the possibility that we have have completely removed the work of the Holy Spirit in the American church. He also takes us on a journey through scripture to help the reader discover life in the Spirit.
  4. The Circle Maker by Mark Batterson.
    I actually listened to this one other than reading it however that doesn’t take away from it’s message. This book dicusses the idea of praying bold, audacious prayers in our lives. No, it’s not a ‘Name it and Claim it’ book. It leans much more into the idea of being instep with the Spirit of God and praying through things that He lays on our hearts. Once again, a great book for expanding your spiritual life.
  5. A.D. 30 & A.D. 33 by Ted Dekker.
    These two books are fiction. The author does not shy away from that fact. These books are about what life might have been like in the Arabian Desert during the life of Jesus. The story is of a young woman turned queen, looking for a way to save her people. Through her journey she encounters Jesus and learns of the kingdom of God. It is a journey of transformation from desert slave to child of God.
  6. Blessed Child by Ted Dekker.
    Throughout the book the reader is taken on the journey of Caleb, a 10 year old boy raised in an Ethiopian monestary with an extraordinary gift. The power to heal. In this novel the reader is introduced to the possibility that there is far more to the Christian faith than we could ever imagine. It’s a story of the working of the Holy Spirit in a visible and tangible way.

Well that’s it for now. Hope you find these post helpful. Let me know what your reading and if I should give them a try!

 

Leave a Reply

