Sunday Setlist: February 28

IMG_3826

To start this one I’ve got to be honest. I was hit hard with discouragement this past Sunday. The feeling that what I’m doing isn’t making a difference at all. That what I’m doing as a worship leader doesn’t matter.

I really do love what I get to do every week. But sometimes it’s just hard. I would like to blame everything on Satan and claim it all as spiritual warfare, but honestly, there are weeks where worship leaders just don’t feel it. The question is, what do you do on those weeks?

I don’t know the best answer. Sometimes the answer is praying through it. Other days all it takes is starting. But then there are those days where all you can do is push through. I hate the feeling of just going through the motions, but doesn’t it happen to all of us at some point?

It’s those times that we can choose to learn. Learn how to combat the complacent or apathetic attitudes. You and I have the power to choose how we react to situations. We can choose the positive or negative outlook. For me on Sunday’s it’s choosing to be discouraged because attendance was low, or see that fewer people could mean a more intimate time of worship. This week – I lost. I chose the negative outlook and have no one other than myself to blame.

A friend of mine told me one time that she used to think we shouldn’t sing songs we don’t really believe. Why sing songs like”God is Able” when we don’t believe that he is? Then she said that maybe it’s through singing the songs that we really begin to believe it. We begin to replace lies in our lives with the truths of who God is.

But no matter what. No matter how negative I feel, I will choose to proclaim the goodness of God even if I have to go through the motions until I believe it. I hate to fake it – so that’s my focus this week, to be refreshed by the goodness of God.

Here’s what we sang at The Bridge this week:

God is Able – Hillsong
How He Loves – David Crowder
No Longer Slaves – Bethel Music
Good Good Father – Housefires

Leave a Reply

