Sunday Setlist: February 7

IMG_3826

I would say that for the past few months I’ve been stuck on worship songs that revolve around the idea of us being children of God. Scriptures such as Jeremiah 1:5 and Psalm 139:13 have been my go to’s for reading while leading. Each of them tell us how God says that he knew us before we were even formed in our Mother’s womb.

Then there’s the apostle Paul who writes about us being God’s adopted children in Galatians 4:4-5. If you know anything about adoption (which I don’t know much), then you know that it’s an expensive process. God chose to pay a great price, by sending his only son Jesus to die a gruesome and horrific death, to adopt us all as sons and daughters.

Now you may not find this significant. Or maybe you are firmly secure in your place as one of God’s beloved children. For me it was a different story. It took a while for me to get there. And here’s why.

Growing up my parents, specifically my dad, were my heroes. There was nothing they could do wrong. The thing I remember wanting most was to please them. For the longest time I still carried this with me, even after graduating from grad school and getting married – I still wanted to please my parents.

Now don’t get me wrong, they wanted the best, and still do want the best for me and my brothers and sisters. They did a fantastic job raising four crazy kids and I love my parents deeply.

What I came to realize, was that my identity was wrapped up in who and what I thought my parents wanted of me. It took some time and intentional mentoring and searching for me first discover this, and second to replace that identity with who God has called me to be. And I’ll be the first to tell you – It’s not easy. I was 27 when this started and it still goes on today. But I’ve learned that my true place is beside the Lord.

So maybe that’s why we focus on who we are as followers of Christ in worship at The Bridge. Maybe it’s also because the Lord wants all of his children to flourish, and to do so, we must first find our identity in Him.

So here’s what we sang at The Bridge Church this week:

God Is Able – Hillsong
No Longer Slaves – Bethel Music
Good Good Father – Housefires
To Our God – Bethel Music

Leave a Reply

