Song Review: Good Good Father

Have you heard the song Good Good Father by Housefires yet? If not I think you’re missing out and should at least give it a listen before I give you my opinion of it.

Good Good Father by Housefires

Honestly, I didn’t like this song at first. I think it’s because I was told it was such a good song and should do it. But being the good stubborn person I am, I put up walls when I’m told to do something. It’s just a flaw of mine and I know it, so no need to pick further…

But as I’ve listen to the song, it’s grown on me. The lyrics began to catch in my spirit. They began to speak, reminding me of who God is.

Good Good Father is a song of searching. It tells of the journey of someone looking for something. Searching for answers to life’s problems. Maybe answers to the specific purpose of life. Or maybe it’s we simply need to be reminded of who God is.

My favorite part of the song is the chorus. It says,

You’re a good good Father.
It’s who you are, it’s who you are, it’s who you are.
I am loved by you.
It’s who I am, it’s who I am, it’s who I am.

Yea, it’s a little wordy, but I like this break down …
You’re a good good Father – I am loved by You.

Simple.
To the point.
Reminding myself that I am loved by God.
Loved by the Lord.
Loved by my Father in heaven.

So, if you haven’t heard this song yet – give it a shot. Who knows, it may grow on you. If you want a different version, here is Chris Tomlin’s cover of Good Good Father

One Reply to “Song Review: Good Good Father”

Leave a Reply

