Day 2: Scripture

It’s Day 2 so here we go!

Ah it is November 2nd. Day 2 of our “30 Days of Thanks” journey. I really do want to thank you for taking this journey with me. If you like, all of the post in this journey are linked here, mostly because it’s the only way I know to set them up.

Today I’m going to continue talking about my faith. Mostly because that’s what I do. Yesterday I explained briefly how I believe Jesus is the center of my life and that I try to make every decision not with him first, but with him in the Center of it all.

In continuation of that, I want to talk about the Scripture, or Bible as most people call it. I call it Scripture because, well, it calls itself that. See the Bible doesn’t refer to itself as the Bible. It is a collection of book and letters written over centuries by many authors. It does however, refer to itself, in itself, as Holy Scripture.

By now your tired of the semantics lesson so I’ll move on.

Honestly though, I am thankful for the Scripture. I believe that the scripture holds within itself the principles of God that govern life. It holds wisdom like none we can find in the writings of our time. Scripture contains truths so powerful, that not even 2000 years of persecution can destroy it. It is a teaching book. A story book. It’s a book of restoration and redemption. Here’s what a guy named Timothy had to say about it;

“All Scripture is inspired by God and is useful to teach us what is true and to make us realize what is wrong in our lives. It corrects us when we are wrong and teaches us to do what is right. God uses it to prepare and equip his people to do every good work.” 2 Timothy3:16-17 (NLT)

See, I view the world through the lens of this book. At least I try too. Sometimes that isn’t always the case. I am wrong at times. I am sinful because I am a broken person. But, I believe that God has set in place redemption for the broken. Healing for the sick. A place to call home for the lost. And we learn about this through his Holy Word, or the Scripture.

For that, I am Thankful.

Leave a Reply

