Book Review: Crash the Chatterbox

Hey there friends! Got another book review for you to check out. This one is on Steven Furtick’s latest book Crash the Chatterbox: Hearing God’s Voice Above All Others.

9781601424570

I think the hardest part about writing an honest review about some of these books, is that I only choose what I’m wanting to read. Crash the Chatterbox is no exception. I have loved Furtick’s other books and have a review on Greater here, so needless to say I was really excited to have the opportunity to read this one.

Furtick begins the book defining the chatterbox as, “my way of representing the lies we believe that keep us from accurately and actively hearing God’s voice” (page 7). He then outlines his defense with four confessions we can use to fight the chatterbox. (Page 15)

  • Confession 1 – God says I Am: Overpowering the lies of the Enemy in your insecurities.
  • Confession 2 – God says He Will: Overpowering the lies of the Enemy in you fears.
  • Confession 3 – God says He Has: Overpowering the lies of the Enemy in your condemnation.
  • Confession 4 – God says I Can: Overpowering the lies of the Enemy in your discouragement.

Furtick then unpacks these confessions throughout he remainder of the book.

This book is written for those of us that want to engage in a fuller relationship with God. But in order to do that, we must first find out what God says about us over what the Enemy says about us. Furtick says, “When it comes to hearing God’s voice, identity always comes before activity” (16).  He also states, “Discovering who you are in Christ is not a one-time event. It is an ongoing, life-giving, often paradoxical, and sometimes brain-bending experience” (65).

So what we can tell from the first few chapters, is that regardless of what the author or anyone else says about us, what matter most is what God our Father thinks about us. When we come to grips, or understand our identity in Christ is when we are able to live life to its fullest.

Overall this book wasn’t a real hard read. The small font in this edition made it pretty difficult to read and I have good eye sight. So a bigger font would have been better on the part of the publishers.

I would also say this book could be a little far stretched at some points. I have a growing tendency to be weary of Furtick’s theology after listening to quite a few of his sermons. He comes across to me as a hype guy, always looking for affirmation from his audience. However I didn’t find anything in this book that made me question him here so I say it’s all good to go.

I received this book for free from Multnomah Publishers to write this review. I really enjoyed it and if you get this book, here’s an Amazon link. I hope you enjoy it!

One Reply to “Book Review: Crash the Chatterbox”

Leave a Reply

