Worship Setlist: Merge

images-6Last week I had the opportunity to lead worship for the youth group at my church.  I love leading for this group because they are always involved and engaged.  I believe this has part to do with the unending work of our youth pastor.  As a worship leader I absolutely love that he has helped create an atmosphere for this exact thing, a place where students are welcomed and want to worship.

Knowing this, I wanted to have songs that would allow the students to sing freely yet still challenge their spiritual lives. Choosing songs for this purpose is no easy task, and can truly only be done through prayer.

Here’s the setlist from that night;

Your Love Never Fails – Jesus Culture
Hosanna – Hillsong United
Here’s My Heart – Crowder
From the Inside Out – Hillsong United

Overall I felt that this set was reminding us that God will never leave us nor fail us. This is backed through scripture in 1 Corinthians 13 where Paul says that love never fails. He also says in Romans 8 that nothing can separate us from the love of God.

Knowing this, we have the opportunity to give God full access to our hearts and praise him for what he has done, and will do for us. He is everlasting. Neverending. My purpose for living is to bring him glory. Now I know that these songs cover many more topics, but these were the purposes of them for this night.

As I said earlier, it’s only through prayer that I can even organize a setlist that matters for a specific moment.  Sure, I could just pick songs, perform them well and expect God to work through that.  I’ve done that for years and honestly it’s just, empty and unfulfilling. Playing a set that the Lord has put together is far superior to anything I can do.

I absolutely love to lead worship for youth groups. If you’re in or around North LA (Louisiana not Los Angeles) I would love to talk to you about coming in and leading for your group. You can contact me through the blog here.

Let me know what you think of the setlist above. Good or bad. Agree or disagree I’m open for discussion.

 

Leave a Reply

