Song Review: Beautiful Day

I’ve heard this song on the radio lately and it has really been bugging me. Before I go any further, I’m not really into tearing artists down. I don’t think that’s helpful or really holds a purpose for anybody.

My purpose in writing this is far bigger than any one artist or her writers. I truly believe that with good guidance, that anyone can be truly great at what they do, even if I may not really like it. I just say, my issue is that we, the Christian culture in America, have taken worship so far away from what it was really meant to be.

Here’s the chorus of the song, the part that I really think shows how we have degraded what worship is:

And ooh there’s something ’bout the way
Your sun shines on my face
It’s a love so true, I could never get enough of You
This feeling can’t be wrong, I’m about to get my worship on
Take me away, It’s a beautiful day

What really gets me about this song is the line I’m about to get my worship on. I really just don’t get that. If it weren’t for that repeated line I wouldn’t have a problem with it. But what does that even mean?

I’ve studied worship. I still consider myself a student of worship and always will. It’s not something we will ever fully understand. However I think this line takes it too far outside of a biblical context, which is what I’m assuming this song was supposed to be written in considering the rest of the lyrics.

Biblical worship is about giving thanks and praise to God. It’s about lifting our Savior above ourselves. Worship is not simply something we can ‘get on’ like a dance or groove. Worship is about reverence, joy, dancing, repentance, and a lot more than I have time to write about here. It’s more than singing a song or getting something from God. Sometimes, we are called to worship even when we don’t feel like it. Sometimes, worship involves sacrifice.

Now don’t get me wrong here. I love popular Christian music and believe that it has a place. Yes, the song is light and poppy. I think it has a good feel, probably for the young teenage girls, and overall has a great message that no matter what we’re going through in life, we can be reminded that God is there right beside us.

I am really after having good theology in the songs that we as Christians produce. I think that lines such as this in a popular song are misleading and incorrect theology. I want young people like Jamie to succeed in her career as a wonderful artist, just with correct theology.

Is it so wrong to want what we sing as a Christian culture to have correct theology?

2 Replies to “Song Review: Beautiful Day”

Leave a Reply

