Promises

I’m in a place in life where I’m having to wait on God. I’m a control freak so this isn’t really easy for me. I don’t like waiting. I need action, steps, movement.

However, this point in my life I have to wait. And learning to wait is a process. If you think about it, all learning is a process of building. We didn’t do algebra in kindergarden because we couldn’t add and subtract or do multiplication and division. All of these things are needed for algebra. So it is with waiting on the Lord.

Waiting on God is a process. Sometimes we have to be torn down so we can be built back up again. It involves praying, reading, and believing. But believing what? Well, the promises God lines out for us in Scripture, that’s what.

One of those such promises is that he will always take care of us. Jesus teaches in Matthew 6 and Luke 12 not to worry about tomorrow saying God will take care of us. It is up to you and I to seek his kingdom first, then he will give to us.

So the last couple of months I’ve been searching. Searching for a job, career, dream, the Lord and so on. Trying to figure out how to make enough money to provide for my family. But it’s not my job to provide for my family, it’s the Lord’s.

In the midst of all of this I found this song, Promises by Sanctus Real. The chorus is simple and some might consider it cheesy, but it’s a simple reminder to refocus onto what God has promised us. The Bible is full of them. He loves to reveal them to us. So here is the official music video by Sanctus Real.

Here are the lyrics for the song:

Verse 1:
Sometimes it’s hard to keep believing, in what you can’t see
That everything happens for a reason, even the worst life brings
If you’re reaching for an answer and you don’t know what to pray
Just open up the pages let His word be your strength

Chorus:
And hold on to the promises
Hold on to the promises
Jesus is alive so hold tight
Hold on to the promises

Verse 2:
All things work for the good of those who love God
He holds back nothing that will heal you not even His own Son
His love is everlasting His faithfulness unending
Oh, if God is for us who can be against us
So if you feel weak

Bridge:
Neither life, nor death
Could separate us
From the eternal love
Of our God who saves us

One Reply to “Promises”

Leave a Reply

